Artist Faculty Series

Click here to purchase a season ticket (20% discount)

Students with ID are admitted free to all performances.

Wednesday, July 1

Opening the festival’s 11th season, this concert features two masterworks by Brahms: the Piano Trio in C major, Op. 87, performed by Triple Helix, as well as the viola quintet in G major, Op. 111.

Friday, July 3

This program offers an experience both of irrepressible grief and good cheer, the former in Arensky’s quartet inspired by melodies of the Russian Orthodox funeral service and written for an unusual instrumentation of violin, viola and two celli, the latter in the verve of Britten’s Suite for violin and piano and the joyous C major viola quintet of Mozart.

Wednesday, July 8

Two sonatas of Ravel, one for violin and piano, the other for violin and cello, are combined with the rarely heard piano trio of Fauré for a French accent to this program. The evening closes with the chamber version of Mozart’s piano concerto in A major, K.414, performed by Robert Blocker, dean of the Yale University School of Music.

Friday, July 10

This program brings together the brilliance of Stravinsky’s Duo Concertant, the wild energy of Penderecki’s string trio, and the intoxicating piano quintet of Shostakovich, with its alternation of formal rhetoric and understated sardonic wit.

Tuesday, July 14

This city of musical luminaries brings us the rich chromaticism of “Transfigured Night” by the young Schoenberg, the single Quartet Movement of Schubert, at once both virtuostic and deeply expressive, along with Mozart’s G minor piano quartet, the first of its genre.

Friday, July 17

The program takes us from the genial spirit of Luna Pearl Woolf’s new duo for violin and cello, through the dramatic and heartfelt F minor piano trio of Dvořák, to the magnificent sonorities of the Brahms B flat string sextet. The artistry of guest cellist Matt Haimovitz is heard in all three works.

Friday, July 24

Our 2015 season closes with a tribute to the Hungarian musical world: a violin showpiece by Hubay, violin duos of Bartók, the haunting Kodály Serenade for two violins and cello, and finally the Brahms G minor piano quartet, with its dashing Hungarian finale.

Subscribe to RSS - Artist Faculty Series